State Facts

Did you Know?

Responsive Image

Alabama


Alabama differentiates between "simple misconduct" and "gross misconduct." If the state disqualifies the claimant for "simple misconduct", the employer will only be relieved 50% of potential liability.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Alaska


Alaska uses a Quarterly Payroll Decline method for funding unemployment benefits. This is unlike the direct charge-back systems used in all other states.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Arizona


In Arizona, the employer can receive a non-charge if the claimant quit for a compelling reason not attributable to the employer.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Arkansas


If the claimant was hired for part-time work in Arkansas, and continues to work part-time with no change in hours, then the employer can receive a non-charge.

Learn More

Responsive Image

California


California requires in-person attendance at the vast majority of their unemployment hearings, and rarely grants a postponement.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Colorado


Colorado employers can receive a non-charge if the claimant earned less than $1,000.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Connecticut


Failure to respond to Connecticut's request for wage verification could result in a loss of rights on an unemployment claim.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Delaware


For Delaware staffing employers, the state will view Failure To Maintain Contact as a voluntary quit If the employer informs the employee in advance that they must contact the employer upon the end of an assignment.

Learn More

Responsive Image

District of Columbia


If the employer is base-period only, they do not have protest rights in the District of Columbia.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Florida


If the employer informed the claimant upon hire that they have a probationary period of 90 days or less, Florida employers can receive a non-charge if the employee is discharged during that probationary period.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Georgia


Georgia will relieve a staffing agency or a PEO if an employee fails to maintain contact with the employer. However, there are stringent notification requirements for the employer to maintain compliance with this provision.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Hawaii


In Hawaii, the employer must respond to all unemployment claims, even the non-protestable issues, to avoid a penalty.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Idaho


In Idaho, the employer can receive a non-charge if the claimant quit for a compelling reason not attributable to the employer.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Illinois


The most recent 30-day employer in Illinois is responsible for ALL unemployment benefits for a claimant. The base only employer is not charged.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Indiana


An employer in Indiana can lose protest rights for failing to respond to an adjudicator call.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Iowa


Iowa employers must participate in fact finding interviews in addition to responding to the unemployment claim in writing.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Kansas


A Kansas employer will lose their appeal rights if they respond to the initial claim with insufficient separation information.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Kentucky


Kentucky employers can receive a non-charge if the claimant quit for a better job.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Louisiana


In Louisiana, if the claimant was hired for part-time work, and continues to work part-time with no change in hours, then the employer can receive a non-charge.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Maine


Maine employers can receive a non-charge if the claimant did not work for five consecutive weeks.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Maryland


Maryland employers will be assessed a $15 penalty for every unemployment claim (including non-protestable issues) that is not responded to on a timely basis.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Massachusetts


Massachusetts employers can receive relief of charges if they are a regular part-time employer, and the claimant is filing due to the loss of their regular full time job.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Michigan


Michigan does not recognize previously adjudicated claims. If the claimant re-qualifies and files again, the claim must be protested as if it were the first claim.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Minnesota


In Minnesota, the employer can receive a non-charge if the claimant earned less than $500; However, the employer must still respond to the state with separation information.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Mississippi


In Mississippi, if the employee separates due to health reasons, and the employee was advised by a physician to leave employment, the employer can receive a non-charge.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Missouri


For staffing employers in Missouri, the state will view Failure To Maintain Contact as a voluntary quit if the employer informs the employee in advance that they must contact the employer upon the end of an assignment.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Montana


A Montana employer can receive a non-charge if the claimant separates due to being called to military duty for less than six weeks.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Nebraska


With an employer PIN # in Nebraska, you can go online to respond to unemployment claims and file appeals.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Nevada


In Nevada, if the employer is base-period only, protest rights are severely restricted. The employer must have 75% of the base period wages, or the employee must have been discharged for a proven crime.

Learn More

Responsive Image

New Hampshire


A New Hampshire employer can receive a non-charge if the claimant has worked less than twelve consecutive weeks.

Learn More

Responsive Image

New Jersey


In New Jersey, the employee must be absent for five consecutive days for the employer to get relief in a job abandonment claim.

Learn More

Responsive Image

New Mexico


For New Mexico staffing employers, the state will view Failure To Maintain Contact as a voluntary quit if the employer informs the employee in advance that they must contact the employer upon the end of an assignment.

Learn More

Responsive Image

New York


A New York employer can receive a non-charge if the claimant quit for a compelling reason not attributable to the employer.

Learn More

Responsive Image

North Carolina


The employer in North Carolina can get relief on a probationary discharge for inability if the claimant was employed under 100 days.

Learn More

Responsive Image

North Dakota


In North Dakota, if the claimant received sick pay upon separation, that can reduce unemployment benefits.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Ohio


In Ohio, if a part-time employee quits to protect their full-time job elsewhere, the part-time employer can receive a non-charge.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Oklahoma


A paragraph is a self-contained unit of a discourse in writing dealing with a particular point or idea. Paragraphs are usually an expected part of formal writing, used to organize longer prose.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Oregon


A paragraph is a self-contained unit of a discourse in writing dealing with a particular point or idea. Paragraphs are usually an expected part of formal writing, used to organize longer prose.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Pennsylvania


A paragraph is a self-contained unit of a discourse in writing dealing with a particular point or idea. Paragraphs are usually an expected part of formal writing, used to organize longer prose.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Puerto Rico


The employer in Puerto Rico will lose their appeal rights if detailed separation information is not provided at the initial claim level and includes all types of separations.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Rhode Island


In Rhode Island, the employer can receive a non-charge if the claimant worked fewer than 4 weeks and earns less than 20 times the hourly minimum wage.

Learn More

Responsive Image

South Carolina


South Carolina employers can receive a non-charge if an employee quits due to domestic violence or to accompany a military spouse.

Learn More

Responsive Image

South Dakota


A paragraph is a self-contained unit of a discourse in writing dealing with a particular point or idea. Paragraphs are usually an expected part of formal writing, used to organize longer prose.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Tennessee


A paragraph is a self-contained unit of a discourse in writing dealing with a particular point or idea. Paragraphs are usually an expected part of formal writing, used to organize longer prose.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Texas


A voluntary quit for medical reasons in Texas is a non-charge for the employer.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Utah


Utah employers can receive a non-charge if the claimant quit new work after a trial period because the work was unsuitable when compared to their prior work history.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Vermont


In Vermont, the employer can receive a $100 assessment for failing to respond to an unemployment claim.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Virginia


In Virginia, the employer can receive a non-charge if the claimant worked less than 30 days.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Virgin Islands


For the Virgin Islands, it is important to respond to non-protestable claims if there is severance pay as that will reduce unemployment benefits.

Learn More

Responsive Image

Washington


Washington employers can receive a non-charge if the claimant quits for compelling medical reasons or to accompany a moving spouse.

Learn More

Responsive Image

West Virginia


To qualify for benefits for West Virginia, the claimant must have earned $2,200 in the base period and have earned wages in more than one quarter of the base period.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Wisconsin


Wisconsin employers can receive a non-charge if the claimant quit for a compelling reason not attributable to the employer.

Learn More
Responsive Image

Wyoming


In Wyoming, wages in lieu of notice or severance pay will reduce unemployment benefits.

Learn More